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This booklet gives you 
important information about 
your safety in Department of 
Youth Services facilities. Youth 
and staff safety is one of the 
most important values of DYS. 

It also tells you how to: 

 Be safe in ODYS facilities. 

 Get help if you are sexually 
abused/assaulted or 
sexually harassed. 

 Take the right steps to 
report if you are sexually 
abused/assaulted or 
sexually harassed. 

Whether you are living in a 
juvenile correctional facility or 
in the community, the 
possibility always exists that 
another person may sexually 
abuse/assault or sexually 
harass you.  

It is wrong for anyone to 
threaten or hurt another 
person.   Everyone deserves to 
be safe! 

WHAT IS THE 
PRISON RAPE 
ELIMINATION 

ACT ? 
 

The Prison Rape 
Elimination Act (PREA) 

was passed in 2003 with 
unanimous support from 
both parties in Congress.  
The purpose of the act 
was to “provide for the 

analysis of the incidence 
and effects of prison 

rape in Federal, State, 
and local institutions 

and to provide 
information, resources, 
recommendations and 

funding to protect 
individuals from prison 

rape.” 

SO, HOW WILL THIS BOOKLET HELP 

ME STAY SAFE? 

Rape Crisis and Victim Advocacy 

Organizations 

Cuyahoga Hills Juvenile Correctional Facility (CHJCF) 

Cleveland Rape Crisis Center 

24 hour Hotline — (216) 619-6192 

526 Superior Avenue, Suite 1400, Cleveland, Ohio 44114 

Office Phone: (216) 619-6195 

To call from your dorm/unit dial: *1965# 

Indian River Juvenile Correctional Facility (IRJCF) 

Stark County American Red Cross 

24 hour Rape Crisis Hotline - (330) 452-1111 

408 Ninth Street SW, Canton, Ohio 44707 

Office Phone: (330) 453-0146 

To call from your dorm/unit dial: *1963# 

Circleville Juvenile Correctional Facility (CJCF) 

Transitions/Haven House of Pickaway County 

24 hour Crisis Line - (740) 477-9113 

1180 N. Court Street, Suite G 

Circleville, Ohio 43113 

Office Phone: (740) 474-9430 

To call from your dorm/unit dial: *1964# 

 

All youth calls are subject to monitoring.  DYS must report 

all incidents of alleged sexual assault & sexual abuse to the 

appropriate Children Services Agency & the Ohio State High-

way Patrol.  



 DYS staff or the 

police will investigate 

the allegation, and you 

may receive criminal 

charges for your 

actions.  If you are 

found guilty, you could 

face more time in DYS 

or be placed in an 

adult correctional 

facility depending on 

your age and the type 

of charges filed.   

 If you have trouble 

controlling your 

actions, you can seek 

help so that you do not 

harm anyone.   

 Also, remember that if 

you make a false 

report, you will be held 

accountable & could 

face new charges or 

loss of privileges.  

If Sexual Harassment Happens to Me... 

If you are in an DYS facility and have been sexually 

harassed, it is important that you do the following: 

 Report the Sexual Harassment to a facility staff 

member. 

 The staff member will separate you from the 

harasser, and you will get to speak to staff in 

Behavioral Health Services about what happened. 

What Will Happen If I Sexually Abuse/

Assault or Sexually Harass Someone? 

Promoting safety is not only what staff members do, but 

what you, as a youth must do.  Remember sexual 

harassment/abuse/assault is NEVER the fault of the 

person being harassed/abused.  Here are some things 

you can do to try and help yourself remain safe. 

Staying Safe 

Where you are. 

Avoid being isolated away 

from the main group 

where staff members 

can’t see you. Position 

yourself  in plain view. 

Sexual abuse/assault and 

sexual harassment 

happen more often when 

a  youth is isolated and 

alone with another 

person than when the 

youth is part of a group. 

 

Who you tell private 

information to. 

Youth have been known 

to use this information to 

get another youth to do 

something they don’t 

want to.  

 

 

 

Situations that make 

you feel uncomfortable. 

Trust your gut feeling.  

If a situation feels 

wrong, it most likely is. 

Work to get yourself out 

of the situation and then 

report the situation to a 

staff member.  

 

 

Special attention 

someone may be giving 

just to you. 

This may be favors, 

romantic or sexual 

advances, gestures or 

talk. This includes 

sharing secrets. You need 

to report this to a staff 

member. 



INTRODUCTION 
While you are in DYS 

custody, it is our goal to 

make sure you stay safe 

and free from sexual 

abuse, sexual assault and 

sexual harassment.   

 

DYS has a ZERO  

Tolerance for Sexually 

Abusive, Sexually 

Assaultive and Sexually 

Harassing Behaviors. 

 

What does this mean for 
me ? 
 

YOUR RIGHTS 
You have the right to be 

free from Sexual Abuse/

assault & Sexual 

Harassment.  You also have 

the right to be free from 

retaliation for reporting 

incidents of sexual abuse/

assault & sexual 

harassment.  

 

HOW TO REPORT 
If you or someone you  

know have been sexually 

abused, sexually assaulted 

or sexually harassed at 

your facility, you need to 

report it immediately.  

Reporting can sometimes 

be hard to do, but it will 

make sure that you and 

others are safe from harm.  

 

Different Ways to Report 

 Tell a staff person 

immediately 

 Write a grievance 

 Call the Tip-Line 855-

577-7714 

 Call the Legal 

Assistance Program 

(LAP) collect at 1-614-

466-5394 

 Write a letter or note 

and give it to staff 

 Call a Rape Crisis 

Advocate  

 

All facility staff know what 

to do if you have been 

harmed and how to help you 

become safe.  

If you are in an DYS facility and have been 

sexually abused or sexually assaulted, it is 

important that you do the following: 

 Report the incident. 

 Staff will separate you from the abuser and 

make sure you get medical attention 

immediately.  You will also be able to talk to a 

Behavioral Health Services staff member to 

get further help.   

 The following steps help save evidence so DYS 

can take action against the person who is 

alleged to have abused you.   

If Sexual Abuse, or Sexual 

Assault Happens….. 

Until staff can meet with you, 
follow these steps to help save 
evidence: 

 

DO NOT Shower or wash 

DO NOT eat or drink 

DO NOT use the restroom 

DO NOT brush your teeth 

DO NOT change your clothes 


